A Sad, Sad Day

I know I’m behind the times here, but I just discovered today that Bunheads was cancelled. And it’s devastating.

Okay. So the show wasn’t perfect. And it obviously didn’t appeal to a wide demographic.

But it had Sutton Foster. And she is FLAWLESS.

I was one of the few lucky ones who got to see Sutton Foster on Broadway in “Little Women” (and THAT show closing is a whole other conversation!).  A few years ago, the university I graduated from invited her to teach a Master class to the theatre department.  Sadly, as a graduate and not a current student, I didn’t get to take part in the class.  But she did do a one-night only concert at the school, which I DID get to see.  Both times, she was PHENOMENAL.  Because Sutton Foster is PEREFCTION.

Even if the show’s ratings were crap, I cannot imagine a world in which a network would give up Sutton Foster.  If someone wrote a hour long TV show in which Sutton Foster only sat quietly and drank a cup of coffee, I would tune in religiously.  If the show was made into a play and went to Broadway, I would gladly pay $125 for seats in the nosebleed section.  If the show closed and went on tour, I would drive 6 hours to a falling down theatre to see it again.

Because Sutton Foster is worth watching.  No matter what she’s doing.

*sigh*

Farewell, Bunheads.  I promise to buy the series on DVD.  And Ms. Foster, I look forward to your next adventure.

3 thoughts on “A Sad, Sad Day

  1. Luckily we don’t have cable, so I never got started on this show. I would be the first to buyit in DVD though, trust me! Sounds like it was a fun show with a stellar dancer…..

Leave a Reply

