A Day Without Ballet is Like a Day Without Sunshine . . .

No sunshine on Thursday.  Because I skipped ballet class (*gasp!*).

It was one of those unavoidable things where life got in the way.  It’s getting cold, and the heater needed turning on (For most people, I realize this is simple.  But we have a geothermal wood burner heating our house, so it’s a bit trickier!).  My sister and mom were out of town, and their horses needed tending.  Work has been busy busy.   By the time I even remembered it was ballet night, it was time to leave for ballet.  Alas, it wasn’t meant to be.

The night of, I didn’t really miss it.  I was tired and not too enthused about squeezing into a leotard.

But every night since, I’ve been kicking myself for not making it happen.  I can’t believe I still have 4 more days until I can go to class again.  I’ve found myself doing random plies around the house, as if to make up for lost class time.

So I’ve learned an important ballet lesson: In the words of the incomparable Tim Gunn, “Make it work!”  Life can try to get in the way all it wants, but this girl is going to ballet.  No excuses!

3 thoughts on “A Day Without Ballet is Like a Day Without Sunshine . . .

  1. Good for you! I hate it when I have to skip ballet.. that only happens about 2 times a year and it comes with a lot of moping. Ballet is priority #1 on Wednesday and Friday for me! 🙂

  2. Yep, feels awful when we can’t go to class… but don’t beat yourself up, sometimes we just need to focus on other things. Mostly, when it happens to me is only because I’m not feeling good enough for class. But work also had its share. The important thing is that you miss it, so you’ll certainly go back. 🙂
    I used to stand in fifth, trying to make my turnout come alive. And I keep finding myself in a ballet position when going up on my feet to check what’s in the microwave or pick up a glass in the kitchen.
    Love it when it comes naturally! 🙂

Leave a Reply

