Class class class!

The blizzard raging out my window has forced reminded me to write an update about recent ballet classes.

Class 1:  My regular class was cancelled for Thanksgiving (no dedication to the art, I say!), so I did a make-up class that week.  However, the only make-up class available is the adult intermediate/advanced class.  As I am barely a beginner, I was a bit nervous – but it was actually wonderful!  There were only 4 of us, so there was a lot of individual attention.  It was kind of nice to see some more complicated combinations at the barre, even when I clearly couldn’t follow them.  I can see the through-line of the steps.  And it’s so inspiring to see the other women in class dancing so beautifully.

Class 2:  After over a week off, the first regular beginner class after the holiday was not great.  I felt sluggish and clumsy.  My feet were ignoring me, and my balance was lousy.  I just had a bad class.  It was the first time I left the studio cranky.  But I decided to let it go as a bad day, and concentrate on the next class.  Which was . . .

Class 3: . . . awesome!  The class was PACKED!  I think there were 15 of us, and the usual class is 7 or 8.  Although that meant less time across the floor, we did some different combos to accommodate the larger groups.  And I feel like I got everything, for the first time.  I wasn’t great, but I was doing it.  AND on the correct leg!  I just had fun.

Next week is my last class of the year.  Not looking forward to two weeks off ballet, but I’ll survive.  And I have it on good authority that I’ve got some new leotards and a couple ballet DVDs coming under the tree to keep me occupied. 😉

2 thoughts on “Class class class!

  1. Nice gifts, eh? Glad you loved class!
    I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award. Visit my “A Bit of Sunshine” entry to pick it up if you want to ! 🙂

  2. Ahwww two weeks without class.. I’m having to deal with that too! It sucks! But glad to hear you had nice classes. It’s always good to have some kind of challenge to show you how you are going to be in a few years 😉 Advanced class!!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

