Forgiveness

I like to think I have many talents (hehe), but forgiveness is definitely not one of them.  I don’t really hold grudges, but I am not adept at forgiving and forgetting, as the adage goes.

Today, I get to practice the skill.  Because Deacon was a bad dog.

Deacon and Maddox are the canine residents of the KitTeaCat household.

Image

Both pit bulls, Maddox (the fawn) is 6 years old and Deacon (black) is 2. They are usually well-behaved dogs.  Like most pits, they are fiercely loyal, playful, very energetic, and protective of their house and pack (both people and kitties!).  They also both went through very long puppy stages in which they had separation anxiety that usually manifested itself by tearing the house to shreds.  Pits are strong dogs, and if they put their mind to eating a pillow or two, the pillow is NOT going to win (Need proof? See below).

Unfortunately, Deacon’s puppy separation anxiety made an unexpected reappearance today.  And the casualty was Maddox’s favorite dog bed.  I walked upstairs to see bit of fabric and foam ALL OVER the bedroom floor.  I haven’t felt so angry in a long time.

It’s not a terribly expensive bed.  It’s a pain to clean up, but the floor needed vacuuming anyway.  No, the thing that really, really made me angry is that it is MADDOX’s bed.  She sleeps in it nearly every night.  Now she’ll have to go without her favorite snuggle place for a few days until I can replace it.  Not a very nice thing to do to your sister, Deac.

Grrr.  I love my four-legged kids, but they sure can try your patience.  I’ll forgive him.  It’s hard to stay upset at that whiny, baby face.  But I reserve the right to stay mad for awhile.

IMG_0271 (This is an example of Bad Deacon from his puppy days. . . Pit Bull: One, Throw pillow: Zero)

6 thoughts on “Forgiveness

  1. Uh oh. But that first photo is very sweet. We’ve been there with a cat who has long since passed away. We left one day for errands, and upon return this little cat had completely destroyed the recliner!

  2. Ah, fur kids. Loads of fun, loads of effort. We discovered yesterday that our younger dog (he’s really only 7mths so still a pup) can jump right up onto out kitchen benches when he feels the need to see his big sister out the window where she is being washed. And he is a small dog. Like 30cm tall. I’ve never seen anything like it. Oh well, it will make me have extra clean kitchen benches I suppose, to avoid tempting him!

  3. Aahhhwww he’s so cute!! Hard to NOT forgive that doggy face.. My cat never murdered anything I really cared about but he does have a habit or positioning himself on my window-sill and then getting all scaredy-cat by some thing or another and jump off and knocking over my jewelery rack. Read: Broken jewelery, small earrings scattered all over the floor and under the bed…. Grrrr!!

Leave a Reply

