Post-Ankle Incident

Monday was my first ballet class post-ankle ouch.  Actually, it was my first time really doing anything on it other than walking.  I haven’t had much pain on it since a couple of days after I injured it, but the swelling has been crazy.  It’s gone down a bit, but mostly just moved around to other parts of my foot.  I have puffy toes.  Seriously.  Eww.

I had decided before class that doing any sort of jumping would be a bit too much.  But I just HAD to get back to class.  I miss it when I’m away.  There’s just something so relaxing and comforting about hearing the music and sinking into that first plié. 

So I planned to do barre only, and stop.  It felt really good to get that ankle working and stretched out.  I got tired pretty quickly though, so I can tell it’s weak.  A work in progress.

In related news, I have found myself watching Center Stage and old reruns of Breaking Pointe just to get my ballet fix on days without class.  And my collection of ballet books seems to be growing quickly as well.  It may be safe to say I’m developing an obsession!

4 thoughts on “Post-Ankle Incident

  1. Haha here here!! I can relate to that addiction.. just a bit too much.
    Have you seen First Position? The Secret Life of Ballet Dancers? Tutu Much? Ballerina (only on youtube)? If not, GO WATCH THEM NOW!
    And good job on the ankle, it’s very smart of you to quit while you’re still ahead. Hope the recovery goes well and you’ll be jumping around again in no time 😉

  2. Love the Center Stage watching. My disc is almost worn out…..

    Wise not to do too much. Glad you were able to go and get a taste!

Leave a Reply

