Creative Use of Couch

People who have never lived with a pit bull generally have misguided views about them.  No, I am not about to launch into a sermon about how misunderstood pits are, or the idiocy of judging an entire breed, or even a nature versus nurture rant. 

This about the fact that pit bulls are weirdos, and you just don’t realize it until you’ve got one or two in the house.

Seriously, my dogs are two of the weirdest animals ever.  Of course, you could make the argument that my husband and I just raised them that way.  (And honestly, our cats would be strong evidence to support that theory!)  But every pit I’ve ever met has certain characteristics that make me think it is just part of who they are.  They are tenacious, and loyal, and energetic . . . and weird.

My personal favorite of these weird qualities is the fact that when pit bulls lounge around, they have some of the strangest “relaxing” positions I’ve ever seen.  People say that cats are connoisseurs of comfort.  No matter where a cat chooses to bed down, it always looks inexplicably comfortable and cozy.  And I have reached the conclusion that pit bulls are the exact opposite.  Every time I see Maddox or Deacon napping, I want to sneakily adjust them.  Limbs bent at freakishly odd angles, head hanging off the bed, laying on their backs with legs straight in the air, even choosing and using specific pillows and blankets – you name it, I’ve seen it in my two.

There is a photo series on my phone of Deacon that I affectionately refer to as “Creative Use of Couch.”  He tends to find very interesting napping positions on furniture.  Today was no exception:

Image

He chilled on that chair – in that position – for about an hour.  I love my little weirdo.

3 thoughts on “Creative Use of Couch

Leave a Reply

