Weakness

I am writing this post in bed, left foot propped up with ice pack (ok, actually a bag of frozen peas) on my ankle.  I had ballet class tonight, and the swelling is rearing its ugly puffiness, even though I was a good little girl and have been sticking to barre exercises only.

I am way over this bum ankle.

Since it’s still hurting and still swollen, several people have encouraged me to get an x-ray done.  I figure I would have known if something were broken – I am a notorious pain wimp, and I’m pretty sure I couldn’t have been walking on a partially broken foot for two weeks.  Nevertheless, I caved and did it yesterday.  All clear.  I just have a sprain.  Nothing to do but rest, ice, ibuprofen, and wait it out.

Unfortunately, patience is NOT a virtue of mine.

Actually, the worst part isn’t the pain, or the swelling, or the fact that I have a single unsightly cankle.  The worst part is the weakness.  I’m not speaking metaphorically – I don’t think I’m a weak person for getting hurt or anything like that.  I mean my ankle is literally WEAK.  My left leg is trembling halfway through barre.  I hate feeling like I’ve regressed in class.  And I’m not sure how to keep things even while the ankle heals.

I know eventually everything will heal, and things will get back to normal.  Maybe whining will hasten the process??

5 thoughts on “Weakness

  1. So sorry about this. How awful. Do you have access to a physio therapist? Maybe just one session could give you some ideas of how to keep the rest of your leg in shape? Or just ways to heal with less regression?

    I’m not very patient either, so I can imagine how frustrating it must be. Good news that it’s not broken. But sorry about it all, anyway.

  2. Haha whining is totally allowed.. It must really suck. But there’s nothing to do! Just make sure you take 100000% extra special care of that ankle to make sure it heals properly and smoothly. Otherwise it will take longer, and longer, and longer… and we don’t want that!

  3. Whining is ok! Very important to let the sprain heal. I learned the hard way when spraining a tendon ice skating. It took six weeks! So, when I sprained my ankle recently I totally let it heal before going back to ballet. When I was skating, the physical therapist gave me specific exercises to do for my type of tendon issue. He said sprains are the worst to heal, and can take the longest. Be careful! I hope you are back to 100% really soon!

Leave a Reply

