Variety = Ouch.

One of the things I really love about my ballet class is that Madame is constantly switching up our exercises.  I’ve heard from a few of the students that they have attended a class in which the instructor did the same barre, every class.  I have a friend who loves Bikram yoga, and one of the studios she goes to does the same 90 minute class, every time.   And I get the point.  Constant repetition forces you to continually improve on the exercise.  I get it.

But it doesn’t work for me.  I get bored easily.  So switching it up appeals to me, and I think I improve more when I don’t know what’s coming next.  I have to perfect the movement AND remember the combination.  And, occasionally, I have to do something entirely new.

Let me tell you: sometimes new hurts.  A lot.

In my Thursday night class, everything was going along swimmingly.  I even made it through frappes without too much drama.  And the best part about making it through frappes is that grand battements are next.  I love grand battement at the barre.  Because I’m good at it.  I have long legs and decent flexibility when it comes to battements.  (Full disclosure:  I also like it when people move down the barre so they don’t get kicked by me.  That’s power, my friends.)

Madame, however, threw a not-so-little wrench into my battement routine.  Battement front, battement a la second . . . and then battement a la second en releve.  Honestly, I wasn’t nervous.  I distinctly remember thinking, “I got this.”

Then the music started and I almost fell over.  Thank goodness for the barre.

In case you didn’t already know, grand battement a la second en releve ain’t no joke.  Time for some extra crunches.

3 thoughts on “Variety = Ouch.

  1. We normally do our battenments in 3s, trois devant, trois a la seconde, etc. sometimes though she’ll have us do the the 3rd one as a relevé. We do other things too like cloches and the cork screw one, suddenly can’t remember the French term.

    Usually when the class gets harder and tomorrow you wake up sore. Means you’re advancing and using those muscles. Grrr! Such good feelings!

  2. Haha I have the same reaction to new exercises too! Man you always discover muscles you didn’t know you had..
    I love variation as well, like you said, I bore easily too. We have the same barre exercises for a period of time and after the break they always switch things up but usually my teacher incorporates some new moves or she switches things up a bit.

Leave a Reply

