Ballet . . . and gymnastics?

Today, my sister and I took a gymnastics lesson.

We used to take gymnastics.  Over twenty years ago.  Needles to say, our athletic abilities are not exactly the same as they were then.

Actually, the lesson went pretty well.  The instructor (Miss Hannah!) was fairly easy on us, but definitely made us get out of our comfort zones.  Ballet has prepared me for the flexibility and posture, and some of the leg strength.  But my upper body needs work!  Do you have any idea how much wrist strength (yes – WRISTS) gymnasts have?

We’ve scheduled our second lesson for next week – more to follow!  I’m sure I’ll be grand jete-ing on a six foot balance beam in no time!

Image (In case you didn’t know, this is not me.  Maybe next class.)

3 thoughts on “Ballet . . . and gymnastics?

  1. Hahaha.. Or the class after that. Or the one after that.

    How cool you are doing gymnastics with your sister! Must be awesome. Sometimes I feel like the line between gymnastics and ballet is blurring a bit. What do you think?

  2. That is awesome! All along I thought I was the only adult brave enough to start gymnastics again LOL 🙂
    I started again a month ago, after not having done any gymnastics for 24 years, and I am loving every, single moment!
    I can feel it, in every single [unused and idle] muscle LOL
    The fire has been reignited, and it is going to amazing!
    Hope that your endeavors are also exciting and fun, and that you get back into the swing of things real soon 🙂

    • Awesome!! We’ve only done 2 classes so far, but we’re having a blast. It’s coming back surprising quickly . . . just my 31 year old body needs help catching up!

Leave a Reply

