First Balletversary: What I’ve Learned

This week marks the 1st anniversary of my first ballet class. I am now consistently taking two classes a week (and wishing for a third!). Through the year, there have been good classes and bad classes, an injured ankle, and several new leotards.

All in all, a wonderful year.

Here are some of my favorite lessons:

  • I will never look like a ballerina – or, at least, I won’t look like the stereotypical version of one. I’m too tall, my feet are flat, my boobs are too big, and my shape is too curvy. But it doesn’t matter. The most beautiful dancers in my classes aren’t the ones with the perfect shape or size.
  • Spotting is impossibly difficult for me. But nearly throwing up after a few chaînes isn’t so great either – so I’ll keep trying!
  • Dancewear shopping is addictive. My latest obsession is with warm-ups.
  • Getting away from what’s comfortable is necessary. Every new step is terrifying the first time, but can only improve after that.
  • Magic can happen in tiny ways. Last week, Madame walked up to me when we were balancing in sous sus at the barre and pushed my shoulders forward a fraction of an inch. BAM! My balances were twice as long for the rest of the class!
  • Adult ballet students are wonderful. This is true of my classes, and the huge blogging community I’ve discovered (that’s you!).
  • I love jumping. I like big steps and big movement.
  • My feline companions also love ballet. Or rather, they love napping in the window while I do my barre exercises at home.

And the best lesson of all is that the lessons will keep coming.  Off to class!!

5 thoughts on “First Balletversary: What I’ve Learned

  1. Congrats on your 1st ballet-versary! Here’s to many more!
    Agreed with the listed lessons you’ve learned, especially 1,4,5,6, and 8. The main difference being that I hate jumps and I like chaines, lol. Getting out of the comfort zone? so true but yet so hard for me.

Leave a Reply

